Is That Lip Stick on Your Collar or Are You Just a Redneck?


 It looks like the entire world has lost their god damn minds. I think most people are in disbelief to the point where no one with any sense is saying anything. The shit I have seen over the last few weeks has got me wondering if I still live in the same country as I did just a few months ago. It was only two short weeks ago I directed your attention to the subtle and not-so subtle racial undertones that have been staining our brand spanking new political hopefulness. It was I, and a (very) few others that bought to your attention the increasing tension among Americans as a whole. I encouraged you to talk about, shout about it, and call on the black media to ring the alarm. Something was amiss and no one was willing to say what it was. But now….the game has changed.

Peep this: The Honorable Minister Louis Farrakhan spoke on the silent consent that has left President Obama open to attacks on his character up to and including those biases based on race. You can stay up to date on the relevance at the Final Call.

“Min. Farrakhan’s injunction to “rejoice intelligently” was more than a timely warning for Election Night 2008, it was divine guidance. It was a call for Black America to be vigilant and not let the euphoria of a moment blind her to the harsh realities that still exist, old hatreds that would rise to the surface and animosity that doesn’t seem to have an end in sight.”

 It’s no secret that White people are feeling some type of way. I bet most of them don’t even know how silly they look to everyone else. Check out how this group of Anti-Obama protesters went to D.C. to appear at a town hall meeting. The bestobama-care part of it is that they call themselves the Freedom RidersDoes that name sound familiar?

 Former President Jimmy Carter addressed the issue earlier this week. It seems like every one of all races realizes what’s going on. But my question to you is why are people just not getting angry with this? And should we have not been the FIRST ones to point out these race-baiting games?

Even President Carter said: “I live in the South and I’ve seen the South come a long way,” he said. But, “I think it’s bubbled up to the surface because of a belief among many white people not just in the south but around the country … that African-Americans are not qualified to lead this great country. It’s an abominable circumstance and grieves me and concerns me very deeply.”

 Saying it’s not true doesn’t make it so. Can someone please inform Joe Wilson’s son of that fact? He gave this interview for The New York Times. I don’t believe raising your kids to be respectful of others necessarily means that the parents themselves believe that all races are equal. He says: “It’s unfortunate people make that jump,” Alan Wilson continued. “People can disagree — and appropriately disagree — on issues of substance, but when they make the jump to race it’s absolutely ludicrous. My brothers and I were raised by our parents to respect everyone regardless of background or race.”

Bill Maher, who is 2009-09-11-HBO-RTBM-Mahernever one to bite his tongue has once again set the world on fire with his straight with no chaser opinion of the treatment of the president on Capital Hill and in the media. This is a quote from his show, Real Time with Bill Maher, which aired on September 11: “And also the folks who did not want the President of the United States to speak to their children. No one who is sane would think the President was going to make a partisan speech to school children. And yet, there’s something about that, I’m sorry – I know it drives conservatives nuts when you accuse them of racism – but when you don’t want the President just talking to your kids? I grew up in an all-white town in northern New Jersey, yeah New Jersey. That’s what bedroom communities were after World War II. And I remember hearing my parents talk when I was a kid, you know, they didn’t want black people just talking to their kids. That’s what this reminded me of.”

Whites and Asians and Latinas and Mid Easterners are not the enemy of this fight. Don’t be suckered into thinking this fight is about “the White people”, its way more complicated than that. This fight consists of a small group of people with antiquated beliefs based on fear and disenfranchisement. The hate groups are made up of pockets of undereducated, poor, rural residents who are feeling the stress of being economically dis-advantaged (oh, just like Black people) and they are led by those who have nothing to gain but power for themselves. The sad part is that those who yell at town halls and those that yell from podiums often have nothing to do with nor care about those that yell from the couches at the TV. Sets and those that yell from the pews in agreement of the misinformation and racial propaganda. The unfortunate thing is, unlike me and you that see clearly, they don’t even know what position they play. They are just pawns and its all a game. So please consider this my checkmate.

 This iI am a man 2s the new Negro, son. I am young enough to have the words of Public Enemy in my psyche but old enough to know the stories of the South and the violence that erupted during the Civil Rights Movement. I don’t cower in the corner hoping to quietly go about my life with out a cross-burned on my lawn like my grandparents. I don’t go home grateful that I get to participate in society by having a job and a little patch of land on a tree lined street like my parents. Nas been told me, “The World is Yours” and I believe him just as much as I believe that fair trade isn’t robbery. I don’t dislike any person of ‘other’ and I don’t expect them to dislike me cuz I am ‘other’ either. I don’t apologize for the color of my skin. I don’t wish I was your because you aren’t the color of my skin. I am just a person going about my life. Although I am conscious of the fact, it’s not my job to make anyone else feel more secure about themselves by my subjugation. If you don’t understand Black people’s awareness of the behavior of some white this blog is a perfect example of what my generation just refuses to be. Billy Bob Redneck and them want us to not forget that we ‘are niggers’. And those of us who stand as Black Men and Men of Color and African American are breaking out and breaking through and they don’t like it. And you know why? Contrary to what you see on BET and MTV, I work and I pay taxes and put my pants on one leg at a time like every body else. My money goes to support just as many “illegal aliens”, “welfare mothers” (of all colors) and “social programs” as the next man. I care about a quality education for my child. I care about safety for my family. I care about a sound financial system that won’t go belly up with my money locked inside of it. I care about retirement and how I am going to live out my golden years. I care about my parents and how they will live out their golden years. I care about access to health care that is both affordable AND effective. I care about inflation, deflation, economic stagnation and globalization.

THE SAME AS ANY OTHER PERSON

 Somebody needed to say it. Quiet strength is not needed right now. This is the time for some 1960’s energy. “Say it Out Loud, I’m Black and I’m Proud” type of energy because this is my country just as much as it’s anybody else’s. I want opportunities like everyone who comes to this country does and I am willing to work for them the same as anyone else. I am not here to beg, I am not here for a handout. I am not here to be your ” dancing coon” nor your “frightened boy”. I am not greater than or less than, I am a man. I am competent and I am capable and you can no longer pretend that you are superior based on skin tone. I am a man and I am not playing this game with you. You can pack up your invisible white robes and your passionate cries of political injustice at the hands of the president. You are free to feel how you want and say what’s on your mind but not when it’s interfering with MY country and what WE intend to do to get OURSELVES back on track. September 11, 2009 just wasn’t the same. All that talk of brotherhood and one nation suddenly died down. Instead, I hear….

“.

 

I’m Just saying America.. We have to do better

Until next time America

Deuces!!

Young M. Clayton

11 Comments

  1. […] See the original post here: Is That Lip Stick on Your Collar or Are You Just a Redneck? […]

  2. “Somebody needed to say it. Quiet strength is not needed right now. This is the time for some 1960’s energy. “Say it Out Loud, I’m Black and I’m Proud” type of energy because this is my country just as much as it’s anybody else’s. I want opportunities like everyone who comes to this country does and I am willing to work for them the same as anyone else.”

    WELL SAID MY BROTHER!!!!

    As always you give voice to the truth. I LOVE THIS POST!!!!!!!!!

    Read, respected & RTed!
    LOVE ya
    J

  3. Welll said….Racism. is a subject that continues to hurt my heart. In a world where we are no longer “segregated” (in a sense) I feel as if I am that African american student walking the stairs to their first day of school at an all White school surrounded by Protesters! I should’nt have to feel that way. I am getting so sick of the hatred..Im tired of it..disgusted by it and it makes me wonder..like u..Am I even in the same country I was born in? Did America go through a time warp and go backwards in time keeping some of today with it…I remember as a kid..about 13yrs old..riding the bus with friends and an elder caucasion woman was on the bus in the front row when we got on..we sat in the front seats and she turned to us Children and said “Don’t you Niggers belong in the back of the bus” Never will i forget that..it hurt me more than she knows even to this day…im with you Ant…the world has lost it’s god damn minds (all over again)

  4. […] Is That Lip Stick on Your Collar or Are You Just a Redneck? « I’m Just Saying youngmclayton.wordpress.com/2009/09/17/is-that-lip-stick-on-your-collar-or-are-you-just-a-redneck – view page – cached + Is That Lip Stick on Your Collar or Are You Just a Redneck? + United We Stand… Divided We Fall!!! + New Leak *Jay-Z Reminder* Prod by Timbaland!!!! + We Don’t Believe You….. You Need More People!!! + Hova Speaks on The Game, Chris Brown rumors!!!!!!! + The worst I ever saw!!!! + The realest shit, I never wrote!!!!! + Six Degrees of Separation!!!! + The Black Man Instructions!!!!!!! + A helping hand!!!!! * What's on your mind!!!! — From the page […]

  5. I agree. I am glad someone has spoken. I commend you for this. Keep spreading THE TRUTH AND YOU WILL ALWAYS HAVE MY SUPPORT

    love&lite

    -iOs

  6. This is what I have been saying for some time now. There is a segment of our population who are indeed scared to death by the possibility of black folk having a voice. However, what they do not realize is that poor white folk and poor black folk share similar concerns. But they allow their blind hatred to guide them into making stands against their own best interests.

    If they were to shake the scales from their eyes and begin to think clearly, then they would recognize how powerful our voice could really be if we join them together, black and white. But those in power are frightened by this and then play on their fears of black folk. It’s a shame because we are wasting a grand opportunity.

  7. There used to be two Americas a black one and a white one. We are currently on our way to adding the America for the haves and have nots. Racisim is not as successful as it used to be, now its classism. Classism is turning out to be way more powerful and effective than racisim. The country is on a downward spiral fast.

    • I couldn’t agree with you more Md20737 We gotta take a stand before this gets out of hand…

  8. Bravo! Bravo! Bravo!!!! There isn’t much else to be said! You have said it all and left no rock unturned! Racism is alive and kicking and I am just plain old tired of it! America does need to do better! I do not tolerate racism but the world at large does not care what I do or do not tolerate. But what I can control is how I live my life and how I raise my children. I do not teach them to see color however it is those on the other side of the railroad tracks who teach their children to see color and for all the wrong reasons! I relocated from New York to Georgia and oh wow is racism prevalent! Although I do not teach my children to have any prejudices against any others, I do teach them to be aware in order to recognize when they are being treated inappropriately. We have the same rights as any other person!!! I love your writing and the energy that comes forth! Your blog had me talking out loud as though you could hear my response, I was fired up…lol!!! Keep spreading the word to your people…our people…the people!!!

    • Mz. Pink Angel, thanks so much for your comment.. I can only imagine what you and your family go thru.. living in a *Confederate State* where they still openlly hoist the confederate flag.. It is very important to eductae our children and make them aware of racism, and t openly denounce it.. because after all racism is first learned at home. not in the outside world… I am glad thaT i am not alone in my thoughts on this matter. I will do my best to constantly shed light on this subject and confront or *Chin check* people who continue to fuel the flames or Racsim!!!!

      Peace
      Young M. Clayton

  9. Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

