Can I get a witness from the congregation?


Can I get a witness from the congregation!

It’ Sunday you up bright and early, you shower, get dressed, get your child (dren) dressed, you eat breakfast then it’s off to your local church. This is a normal occurrence in any state in the “Black Community”. Black people gather at their place of worship and get their “Hallelujah and Praise HIM” on. Black people gather to get a “good word” or a sermon that would hopefully put/keep them on the right path to righteousness.  There is normally a dynamic Pastor, Deacon or Reverend delivering a powerful sermon, and in any minute someone is about to catch the “Holy Ghost”.

And you say to yourself  “God is good” and you feel good to be alive.

Then comes around the collection plate, once, twice, sometimes even three times in one service. If this sounds familiar to you then welcome to the world of “Black Churches”. Now let me be clear I am a God-fearing man, and I am pretty spiritual (don’t confuse Spiritual with being ‘Saved’ or ‘Religious’). But I refuse to fall victim to a lot of the hypocrisy that goes down in “Black Churches”. I always thought (and was taught) that God knows what’s in my heart. And that as long as you do well by him, then all is well. So it troubles me when you hear stories of “Pastors & Reverend’s” having affairs with the parishioners, stealing money, living a Down Low lifestyle (yeah I said it). What part of the game is that?

That shit isn’t right. I know that we as a race are a spiritual people, but being spiritual doesn’t mean you can’t use common sense.

It amazes me how minorities will spend their last piece of change on tithing, because “ you gotta give God 10%YEAH RIGHT. I bet most people don’t know that it mentions nothing about giving “Tithing” in the bible. You know where that came from? Reverend Make Me Rich. Since when is it cool to have people who barely have to nickels to rub together give their rent money, light, cable money to the church in order to get that blessing that they so desire. Then a week later you see the pastor/preacher riding around in a brand new car.

That isn’t right!

If I’m not mistaken the leader of the church is supposed to be a reflection of the people that they serve. Did you ever bother to wonder where exactly is the church leading you? Are you better for attending? Do you benefit from social programs and the feeling of community by interacting with your church? If not then….(ahem).

I thought church was supposed to be about the word, not how many big screens TV’s or, what type of sound system is in the church. I’ve been to churches where you would have thought you were in the club, not the pulpit. But I digress. Church should be about the message not the decor.

Speaking of messages, what’s good with the pastors, preachers, and deacons with little or no credentials spreading the good word? How can you educate the masses and you don’t have an education (training, a correspondence course from the back of the numbers books doesn’t count)? Did you study to become a theologists or did you retire your hoes and swapped one suit for the another? Did you go to school or did you become closer to God because you was shot at, stabbed or something along those lines. Who’s doing background checks? I’m just saying we scrutinized every other profession, so the same should apply to our churches. We have to do better, we have pimps calling themselves bishops and you let um. We have pastors, and preachers turning a blind eye to the spread of HIV and teen pregnancy within their own congregation because something in the Bible THEY READ says that these things are an abomination and should be ignored. I was taught to hate the sin and love the sinner. Don’t get me wrong there are good churches, and excellent pastors out there and for you I am truly thankful for making a difference in peoples lives, but black people have been led from shores of Africa, to the slave ship, to the pulpit in an attempt to teach us to ‘wait on it’. I’m done waiting. If you are a person of faith then join us to-night as we pull up the robes and uncover how ‘the devil’ just may be the very thing you spend your time, money and mental attention listening to each and every Sunday.

5 Comments

  1. Ok bruh, I’ve got a minor bone to pick with you about this posting; i’ve had discussions on many occasions about the “bottom-less” offereing plate or the fact that many church leaders do very well financially. I’ll agree with you that the church leader should reflect the makeup of his/her congregation, but what happens when the congregation is numerous and/or prosperous? Also, keep in mind that the typical church leader is on call 24/7, manages numerous community and financial departments, and has the weight of being the moral compass for an entire group of people! In my opinion, if a church is doing well, i.e., effective community outreach, multiple ministries, consistent & growing congregation, then their leader has a right to be compensated commensurately.
    Now, all that being said, I completely agree with you regarding church leaders with no formal training/education, inappropriate behaviour between leaders and patrons and small, barely surviving churches with leaders driving church-funded cadillacs!

  2. I have mixed emotions as I read this Blog. I consider myself to be a Spirtual person who attends service and tithes regularly. I believe it is important for a person to have a personal relationship with God yet I do not condemn those who may worship Allah, or Buddah. For me it’s the relationship with God and then when I come to church it’s to fellowship with others to increase the flame that I have. Through the fellowship I have been blessed beyond measure. The giving of the Tithe it is between me and God also and it comes from prayer and study as I read the Books of the Law. When I give my tithe it is to honor God not man. Once I give it the shepard or church leaders are responsible if they mismanged the funds. The church I attend requires that the ministers attend Seminary and or Bible School. The key to me again is that the person studies and mediates on the word so that they will not be fooled by fakes. Too many “Christians” rely on the ministers to teach them when God is ready and available to teach us all. Sometimes I feel that people don’t go the extra mile to study and learn for themselves is that it would make them accountable.

  3. I would like to add that I am not perfect and not trying to insult anyone. For me it all about the one on one and I fall down many times but I know that I have been Blessed each time I get back up.

  4. Did you study to become a theologists or did you retire your hoes and swapped one suit for the another? <– You went hard as usual. But it was an honest statement, and an obvious one. This post will definitely ruffle some feathers but I hope it makes some people think about what they participate in, and who they are following.

    I personally believe GOD or the creator is known by many names. Many take different paths toward him. So I bash no one for thier views. But for the life of me, I can not understand why a being that can create and take life would need money in HIS name. Be real with it. The pastor, deacon, whomever has to pay bills to. To keep doing good work we need help from the community we serve. Thats more respectable and that would get my cash. Not GOD need it. Good Post

  5. First off I have a tremendous issue with this posting. How dare you come down on the black church in this manner. If you do your research carefully you will find that NO-CHURCH is perfect. Then you get on the WORLD WIDE WEB and try to discgrace black people and they way we worship. Just because your min is poisioned dont post these nasty sayings and have the rest of the world thinking that this is black culture. And when u speak of preachers I take real offense,because I AM A PREACHER. At a nice sized church and we are STILL GROWING, and guess what I dont have to rob the congregation to live a certain Lifestyle,and another thing you said was,the bible say nothing about tithing?? You are very ignorant when it comes to the word and respect of God. I pray for you my brother that you GET IT TOGETHER, and the pastor of the Broken down hole in the wall church you attend can pray for you. God bless


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

