Sleeper Cell


“Clayton, you are sooo crazy!”

No, I’m actually quite sane and this is just a phrase that’s worked its way into everyday conversation. I don’t feel no type of way by having someone call me crazy…because it’s only a joke or rather the stigma of mental illness is a joke. Far too many people take this topic lightly and I believe it’s time for us to stop that. What happens when people don’t get the help that they need? What happens when a cry out for help goes unanswered?

Get your notebooks out for this one…

John Allen Muhammad

How many people out there know that John Allen Muhammad (the DC Sniper) attorney’s submitted an appeal  to the U.S. Supreme Court (prior to his execution) stating that he had extensive medical issues?  What’s even worse is that jurors were never allowed to hear Muhammad had brain damage, brain dysfunction and neurological deficits, as well as psychotic and delusional behavior before he was convicted. I wonder why this was kept a secret? I would have wanted to know that about him BEFORE his death. Who knew about that BEFORE his killing spree? Further evidence submitted to the courts included MRI brain scans, which confirmed Muhammad had three congenital malformations of the brain, two of which are found with greater frequency in people with schizophrenia.

Muhammad was not the only serial killer with these type of mental issues. You can also add Bobby Joe Long, David Berkowitz, Kenneth Bianchi, John Gacy, and serial killer Carl Panzram, who even realized that his behavior was unique and singular compared to the behavior of his immediate law-abiding, normal family members. Does this mean that the ‘crazy’ people even realized they were crazy?

While researching this article I found out that after the brains of 70 notorious serial killers were examined, it showed that all 70 had some frontal lobe damage which would have been caused as children.  Now to understand why this is important you need to understand what this part of the brain is responsible for. The frontal lobe located in the most anterior part of the brains hemispheres, and has been concluded by scientists to act as your conscience.  It’s essential functions are Self-control, planning, judgment, the balance of individual verses social needs, and many other essential functions underlying effective social intercourse are mediated by the frontal structures of the brain. Just think of it as the part of your brain that makes you ‘play nice with others’, it’s the part of our brain that allows us to be conditioned to live withing our society.

Let me break it down further for you...(pull out notebooks now)

Hypothalamus

The hypothalamus regulates the hormonal system and emotions. The “higher” brain has limited control over the hypothalamus. Because of the physical closeness of sexual and aggressive centers within the hypothalamus, sexual instinct and violence become connected for lust murderers. The hypothalamus may be damaged through malnutrition or injury.

limbric brain

The limbic brain is the part of the brain associated with emotion and motivation. When the limbic brain is damaged, the individual loses control over primary emotions such as fear and rage. The predatory gaze of the psychopath, according to Meloy, lacks emotions, and is as cold as a reptile’s blank stare. Reptiles are missing the limbic part of their brain, where memories, emotions, socializing, and parental instincts reside. In other words, serial killers are aptly described as “cold-blooded,” just like a reptile. 

temporal lobe

The temporal lobe is highly susceptible to injury, located where the skull bone is thinnest. Blunt injuries, including falling on a hard surface, can easily damage this section of the brain, creating lesions, which cause forms of amnesia and epileptic seizures. Damage to the temporal lobe can result in hair-trigger violent reactions and increased aggressive responses. As a child, Ken Bianchi fell off of a jungle gym, and landed on the back of his head. He soon began to have epileptic seizures.

Head injuries are not uncommon, especially when dealing with an adolescent. How many times have you observed children at play and noticed the one that likes to climb (and eventually bust their azz). I can readily recall a few instances where I was running about my little boy life looking for adventure and cracked my skull in play or by pure accident. I’m not a killer (<==disclaimer==>) or am I?

I got a friend, you got a friend, we all have a friend that USED to act fine…until that spill off that motorcycle or that accident at work. Hell, I even know a dude that was hit hard during football and turned into a different person once those bandages came off. It’s almost like he died that day on the field because I have NO IDEA who the guy  was that took over his body and behavior. I couldn’t get to know him either since his erratic violent temper and lack of effort caused him to be kicked out of school not too far after his return from recovering from his injury. Strange ending for a guy who was previously one of the nicest, most normal, easy-going dudes you could meet, on the honor society and Dean’s list.

You won’t know if a person is capable of random acts of violence until they do them. Unfortunately, there are a lot of people slipping through the cracks. Don’t let the media distract you on this one by having you believe these murderers (and the hundreds of thousands that now sit on death row in thousands of prisons across the country) are calculating, evil wrong doers that took innocent lives.

As with anything else, there is (almost) always an underlying reason for people’s ill behavior. The news will tell you to keep an eye out for terrorist activity. I’m telling you to keep an eye out for those around you that are suffering in the kind of pain that you or I can’t see. I’m asking you to put on your 3rd eye shades and identify those in your personal life that may be in need of an ear. Do you know someone suffering a mental illness? Do you ridicule them or do you pay attention and try to empathize with what they are feeling? Do you know of any mental health resources that you could pass along on Twitter? Even a kind word of encouragement to get help a fellow human get by might mean the world to a person. It would mean even more to the lives that could be saved if and when that dormant ‘sleeper’ cells wakes up. And speaking of saving a life, I also wonder at what point does a criminal lose their “human rights”. I say America is not as ‘civilized’ as you may think. Check out part two of this post over at http://tracyreneejones.com/, she’s holding court in her crib right now. If we rush, we’ll get there right in time. Are you with me?

9 Comments

  1. I understand all your points but here is why I believe the jury never heard this info because half of everybody on this damn planet has problems. I am so full of rage I can snap anyday BUT that does not give me an excuse to PLAN A MURDER SPREE. The jury didnt hear about his illness because he wasnt too sick to hide & pull triggers on innocent ppl. He wasnt too crazy to not run..He may have had brain malfuctions but they functioned fine while he killed those people. I have no remorse for him or his condition. I don’t care if he was labeled mentally retarded..if u can load a gun…Plan an attack and Kill ppl multiple times..U are not crazy..U are a murdering psychopathic muthafucka who needs to be put down not medicated!! My brother is serving 25yrs in prison right now for attempted murder…Is he crazy? damn right..the boy got issues but that doesn’t take away from what he tried to do. I love him to death but if he killed someone or tried to, he deserves whatever punishment they give him no matter what his brain is going thru because HE made the choice. We have choices and options..even schizos have choices and options! my frnds brother has js bn diagosed wit Schizo/paranoia..he REFUSES To take his meds…He made the choice so if he snaps & kills someone he deserves his punishment..who knows the choices this sniper man chose when he was obviously diagnosed w/ these problems? can’t blame the medical system..they cannot baby sit ppl..blame grown ass ppl for making the choices they do that lead to innocent lives lost!! The End…u know me..i get heatd n answer w a blog…lol

    • No no one said that but understand that he was diagnosed with this disorder and didn’t recieve the proper help…. that was the point of the blog, is to shed light on the fact that there are alot of people that have mental disorders but don’t recieve the help that the need.. and when they don’t recieve that help.. People like the DC Sniper emerge!!!
      Just a little food for thought!!!!!

      Thanks for the comment Mo!!!!!

  2. You know of all the people now incarcerated I would venture to speculate that I great deal of them actually have some type of mental illness. But our solution is not to attempt to find a cure for these people. Our solution is to lock them away for life. How different is this from the days past which we now determine were barbaric and uncivilized. We have a long way to go before we can actually call ourselves a civilized society.

    • Well said.. that is the problem we are not civilized.. at least 90% of us aren’t… its sad to see how many people don’t get the help that they need. it shocking & sad at the same time!!!

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by lt and Ron White, Mark. Mark said: serious food 4 thought….RT @YoungMClayton @DatPoet I'm back…. brother I'm back http://wp.me/pwkJD-4U […]

  4. I have to agree with you on this one. We live in a society where everyone wants to point the finger at who is doing wrong however no one wants to take the time to find out why. Perhaps he/she has no control over the ill decisions that they make sometimes, heck, on a daily basis. Hence bad decisions prove to have fatal outcomes. I don’t make excuses for those who are mentally ill and committing crimes. I do blame a system, a community, a world that instead of helping these individuals they shun away from them who are deemed “special”, different”, “touched” “sick”, “crazy” and the list goes on. I know because it happenes to me by my own family. Don’t call me “crazy” “depressed”, etc because ridicule is not going to remedy the problem. Render a solution if you think you know the diagnosis doc!

  5. Hello,

    I am delighted to come here. It is a perfect forum

    sexy ass

  6. The temporal lobe is a scary, slippery slope for behavior and conciousness. I am an epileptic with TLE, and the loss of behavior control is by far the most terrifying aspect. After the convulsions and damage to the body by way of thrashing, falling, or self infliction, your mind is now in the postictal phase. You absolutely have no control over your actions, because your concious mind has “left the building.” Usually after an episode, I immediately get sick and very sleep, usually sleeping off the affects of the seizure for a good 20 hours.

    Recently, however, I “woke” up (the sensation I always feel when I snap out of it after a seizure) wandering around the back of a shopping center. Luckily, my husband, who was out of town, called me (somehow I had my purse, but was in pajamas), and was able to get me back home. This is the only time that I must have been motivated to do SOMETHING… The seizure was brought on by a very long panic attack triggered by my bank taking about 780 dollars out of my account, which they couldn’t define a reason for.

    I’m assuming my intention had something to do with revenge on the bank? I didn’t have any weapons, but it was horrifying to know that I was acting autonomically and could not recollect any of the actions. Temporal Lobe Damage and it’s correlation to uncharacteristic behavior is frightening, and requires acknowledgement by the Government and Judicial System.

    The Postictal Phase is predetermined by the presence of TLE, if an episode occurs. Police need to be informed of these details, as many people, including myself, have been detained for odd behavior, and denied their medication. A friend of mine had a seizure in a public place, somehow stole an item from a store and was arrested. When she realized it had been a seizure, she was denied her medication and her request to see a Medical Officer. She didn’t remember any phone numbers, none the less, who exactly she was, and ended up having another seizure while in police custody.

    This neurological dysfunction needs to be taken into consideration in cases such as these, as we are not operating as ourselves, or behaving as we normally would with the presence of our ability to determine behavior, emotion, motivation, and the ability to process logical thought.

    Very interesting article.

    -Alex
    http://www.alexgulkin.com
    http://www.alexgulkin.com/wp

  7. Great Post you made here


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment